Pre-orders begin Friday, October 30 - 8am (est)


  • Remastered for Vinyl
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Red with Black Splatter
  • 24" x 24" band poster
  • 2-Sided Printed Inner Sleeves with Lyrics, and Photos
  • One of the Top Christian Metal Bands of All Time
  • Inducted into the Christian Music Hall of Fame
  • Limited Run Vinyl
  • Audiophile Pressing from Original Sources
  • Hype Sticker matching Each Pressing
  • Ships in a bufferzone mailer

With an album this great, it only made since to get it out on Vinyl as it's never been re-issued on Vinyl. Completely remastered it comes in a gatefold jacket that opens up to iconic band pictures some never before seen, with a large 24" x 24" band poster, full color 2-sided printed inner-sleeve with lyrics and credits. Limited to 200 units.


1986 was an iconic year for Christian metal.  We saw future Hall-of-Fame releases by some bands we already knew - Leviticus (Strongest Power), Saint (Times End), and Messiah Prophet (Master of the Metal). But 1986 also offered several critically acclaimed debut releases from bands that would go on to define the epitome of Christian metal in the decades to follow - Bride (Show No Mercy), Barren Cross (Rock For the King), and last but not least, the debut self-titled album from the theatrical U.S. band out of the state of Washington with a peculiar name, and a sound that hit all the right notes for metalheads desperate for MORE white metal - BLOODGOOD!

Bloodgood was way ahead of their time, and rivaled W.A.S.P. in sheer heaviness and deadly riffs, while boasting a game-changing lead singer in Les Carlson whose voice immediately cemented them in the serious-contender category. The 1986 debut release created a metallic aura that set new standards for both the quality and authenticity of Christian metal. These guys weren't sacrificing their metal edge, even with a passionate Christian message. There's nothing fake to be had here; with lyrics that range from being lost in a perpetual nighttime of sin, killing the black snake of the devil, and setting demons on the run.

Some might call “Stand In the Light” the lyrical crown jewel of the album. The words might seem “un-metal” on paper, but they are absolutely ripped out by Carlsen with such force that they're guaranteed to bring out the fist-pumps, if not the Dio horns.

“Does a child cry? Does the world turn around? Does a fire burn? Is the earth also ground? This we've learned, but what have we found? Does a snowflake fall? And in fall does a tree drop its leaves? Does water freeze?”

Even the album cover is stunning in its simplicity: a barbed wire logo and thick drops of blood shooting upwards and practically hanging in the air. No Christian album had ever been more visually bold. The first five songs on this album ("Accept the Lamb," "Stand in the Light," - listen to Michael Bloodgood kill the bass work on SITL - "Demon on the Run," "Anguish and Pain," and "Awake!") are absolute rockers, and we rank them with anything that Accept, W.A.S.P., Twisted Sister, or KISS did in the same time period. If it’s possible to make a metal ballad out of losing your soul, then "What's Following the Grave" is it; detailing a low-tone fret work, gloomy but inspiring vocals, and a chorus that is jaw-dropping in its time change. You want legitimate, bring-the-roof-down show-closers? Listen to "Killing The Beast," "You Lose," and the lightning strike that's "Black Snake." This remains one metal album that was made for decades of repeated listens. The bottom line for the music fan is simple. This is metal at its finest. Let your ears be the judge. The 2019 Retroactive Records Legends Remastered edition is THE definitive reissue of this classic album - finally getting it right with a 12 page booklet (jewel case) featuring lyrics and rare band photos, digitally remastered by Rob Colwell of Bombworks Sound! This reissue enhances the pure magic of the original and makes it shine even brighter, making it a necessary re-purchase even if you already own it. Trust us -  you’ll be glad you did!


  1. Accept The Lamb     3:47
  2. Stand In The Light   3:41
  3. Demon On The Run   3:56
  4. Anguish And Pain    3:02
  5. Awake 4:10
  1. Soldier Of Peace     3:15
  2. You Lose      2:53
  3. What's Following The Grave  5:00
  4. Killing The Beast      4:41
  5. Black Snake 2:53

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published